
This reference guide does not contain all information needed to originate loans for sale under 
Minnesota Housing programs. See the Minnesota Housing Start Up Procedural Manual at  
www.mnhousing.gov for complete information. 
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Homeownership Programs

Purchase Agreement
No personal property may be included on the purchase agreement 
or addendum.

•	Personal property is defined as anything which is not installed 
or attached to the property in some permanent manner and is 
not legally considered part of the real estate (i.e., free standing 
appliances, TVs, furniture, etc.)

•	 If there is personal property on the purchase agreement, the 
personal property must be removed from the transaction 
before the loan closing. See Minnesota Housing website for 
sample form. 

Subsidy Recapture 
Subsidy Recapture allows the federal government to recover tax 
subsidies from homeowners under limited circumstances.

To owe recapture tax, all three of the following criteria must apply 
at the same time. The borrowers must:

1.	 Sell their home within the first nine years after closing the 
loan,

2.	 Earn significantly more income than when they bought the 
home, and

3.	 �Realize a gain from the sale of the home as defined by the IRS 
(this is different from exposure to capital gains tax).

If Subsidy Recapture applies, the borrowers incorporate the tax into 
their federal income tax returns for the year in which they sell the 
home.

Start Up  First-time homebuyer loans

Our Mission
Housing is the foundation for success, so we collaborate with 
individuals, communities and partners to create, preserve and 
finance affordable housing.

Start Up  First-time homebuyer loans

Step Up  Repeat homebuyer and refinance loans

Fix Up Home improvement loans

Our Family of Loans
Whether you’re just starting your home search or ready to tackle 
home improvements, we’ve got you covered. Learn more by visiting 
www.mnhousing.gov. 

MCC  First-time homebuyer tax credit

651.296.8215 | 800.710.8871 | TTY 651.297.2361
mnhousing.solution@state.mn.us
www.mnhousing.gov

Follow us on Facebook  
and Twitter @mnhousing 2016.11.29



Borrower Eligibility 
To be eligible for a Minnesota Housing Start Up loan, borrowers must meet 
the following requirements:

�r�  �Be a first-time homebuyer, defined as anyone who has not had an 
ownership interest in a principal residence for the previous three years.

•	 	Verify ownership by collecting applicants’ last three years of tax returns 
or IRS transcripts. Borrowers may sign an affidavit if they were not 
legally required by the IRS to file tax returns in the last three years.

r  ��Meet household income limits: (subject to change)

1-2-person household 3 person + household
11-country metro $86,600 $99,500
Rochester MSA
Dodge and Olmsted counties only

$81,700 $93,900

Balance of state $77,400 $89,000

For more information, see the Start Up Procedural Manual and Income 
Calculation Worksheet at www.mnhousing.gov.

r  �Meet home cost limits: (subject to change)	
•	 �11-county metro area: $307,900 
•	Balance of state: $255,500

r  Meet credit score and debt-to-income (DTI) ratios (some products     
       subject to additional credit overlays). See FICO/DTI requirements on   
       website.

r  Co-signers allowed, subject to product guidelines.

r  �All borrowers must occupy the property and meet the first-time 
homebuyer definition.

r  �Occupy the property within 60 days after closing.

r  �Homebuyer education course required for some programs and 
borrowers (www.hocmn.org).

www.mnhousing.gov

Start Up is Minnesota Housing’s statewide mortgage loan program for 
low- and moderate-income first-time homebuyers. The program offers 
affordable, fixed-rate loans and access to downpayment and closing cost 
loans for eligible borrowers through participating lenders.

Loan Requirements
•	Fixed-rate, fully-amortized loans

•	Escrows are required

•	15- and 30-year terms allowed

•	Eligible products: FHA, FHA Streamlined 203(k), RD, VA, Conventional 
Products offered by Minnesota Housing*

*See product descriptions for additional requirements

•	Origination fee collected from the borrower(s) in accordance with 
RESPA. Service release premium (SRP) paid by the Master Servicer in an 
amount established by Minnesota Housing and posted on Minnesota 
Housing’s website. 

Key
Features Monthly Payment Loan

Deferred Payment Loan

Deferred Payment Loan 
(DPL) Option

Deferred Payment 
Loan Plus (DPL+) 

Option

Loan Amount Up to $10,000 in $100 
increments

Up to $7,500 in $100 
increments

Up to $8,500 in $100 
increments (eligibility 
and maximum amount 
determined by lender)

Loan Term 10-year term Equal to first mortgage term

Repayment Fully amortized loan with 
monthly payments

Deferred payment repaid upon satisfaction of 
first mortgage

Interest Rate Equal to first mortgage rate Interest-free

Income Limits Start Up income limits Deferred Payment Loan income limits  
(see website)

Maximum 
Allowable 

Post-Closing 
Liquid Assets

None $8,000 or 8 months PITI, whichever is greater

Disclosures
Required; Lender endorses 
note and assigns mortgage to 
Minnesota Housing at closing

Required; Lender endorses note and assigns  
mortgage to Minnesota Housing at closing

Additional 
Eligibility 

Requirements
None None

Borrower must meet 
two of the four criteria:
•	Sole head of 

household with at 
least one Eligible 
Dependent residing in 
the household

•	Household of four or 
more people

•	Disabled household 
member

•	Front-end ratio of 
28% or higher

Start Up  First-time homebuyer loans from Minnesota Housing

Property Eligibility
The property must be a principal residence located in Minnesota and 
subject to product guidelines, including:
•	Single-family residences
•	Duplexes
•	Townhomes/condos/planned unit developments
•	Modular homes
•	 Manufactured homes financed with government insured/guaranteed loans
•	Community Land Trust leasehold estates

Excluding:
•	 Investment property and recreational homes
•	Home-based businesses that provide exclusive business use which is 

greater than 15% of the total square footage (including basement)

Downpayment and Closing Cost Loans
Borrower(s) may only receive one Minnesota Housing downpayment 
and closing cost loan at a time. Loans may be combined with other non-
Minnesota Housing Community Seconds®. 

All downpayment and closing cost loans require:

•	Borrower contribution of $1,000, or 1% of the purchase price, whichever 
is less.

•	Homebuyer education course (www.hocmn.org).


