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Mortgage Loan Program 
Compliance Overview 

 

The following overview highlights the basic requirements necessary to comply with Minnesota Housing’s 

Mortgage Loan Programs, but does not contain all of the information necessary to originate a loan for sale 

under the Mortgage Loan Program.  The Minnesota Housing compliance review is in addition to the industry 

standard credit underwriting and loan product requirements.  The lender should consult the Mortgage Loan 

Program Procedural Manual, process guide and US Bank Home Mortgage- MRBP Division requirements.   

 

Compliance 
Requirement 

Recommended documentation to 
fulfill the requirement 

Comments/Resources 

BORROWER 

Prior 
Homeownership- 
Three Year 
Requirement 
 
 

Verify first time homebuyer status by 
checking: 

 Tax returns for mortgage interest 
(Schedule A) 

 Credit report for mortgages  
 VOR 
 Cancelled checks for rental payments  
 Previous address on tax returns/utility 

statements 

A Borrower may not have had an ownership 
interest in a Principal Residence at any time 
during the three year period ending on the date 
of execution of the mortgage. This requirement 
applies to all borrowers. 

Common Exceptions:  See “Mortgage Loan 
Program, MBS Manual” section 2.05 on website. 

3 years tax 
returns 

Obtain one of the following: 

 3 yrs filed 1040s-signed by borrower 
 3 years tax transcripts – borrower 

signature not required 
 Affidavit – if not required by IRS to file 

taxes 

Or a combination the above documents. 

If borrower was required by the IRS to file taxes: 

 Required on all files 
 No exceptions and no extensions 

allowed 
 Tax returns must be filed. 
 Copies of amended taxes allowed if 

original (incorrect tax return) is included 
in the file. 

If the borrower was not legally required by the IRS 
to file taxes: 

 Borrower may provide an affidavit stating 
that he/she was not required to file an 
Income Tax Return during 1 or more of 
the 3 preceding years. 

Principal 
Residence/ 
Occupancy  

 
Confirm Borrower Intent. 

All borrowers are required to sign Borrower 
Affidavit prior to or at closing. 
 

Minnesota Housing requires occupancy within 60 
days of closing. Non-occupant co-borrowers or 
co-signers are not allowed. 
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Compliance 
Requirement 

Recommended documentation to 
fulfill the requirement 

Comments/Resources 

BORROWER 

Income Limits 

Verify and review all sources of income for 
all household residents over the age of 18.  
 
Minnesota Housing Eligibility Income 
Worksheet: 
http://www.mnhousing.gov/idc/groups/pu
blic/documents/webcontent/mhfa_002982.
pdf 

Income Limits: 
http://www.mnhousing.gov/resources/resources/l
imits/MHFA_004718.aspx.  

 Income limits vary based on program, county and 
household size.  

Eligibility Income may be different from Qualifying 
Income.  Lenders calculate Eligibility Income per 
Minnesota Housing guidelines to determine if the 
borrower is eligible for the program and Qualifying 
Income for credit underwriting.  Under NO circumstances 
can Qualifying Income be greater than Eligibility Income.  

Homebuyer 
Education 

Required for borrowers securing Minnesota 
Housing financing under the following: 

 MMP Conventional Loans 
 All CASA loans 

At least one borrower per household must 
provide a certificate of completion. 

For Minnesota Housing purposes, 
certificates do not expire. 

Recommended for all borrowers.  Not required for 
MMP FHA, VA or RD loans. 

Qualified Homebuyer Training is defined as 
homebuyer training completed in a classroom 
setting by organizations that have had staff 
trained under HomeStretch or NeighborWorks 
America. 

For class schedule, refer to www.hocmn.org. 

PROPERTY 

Acquisition Cost 
limits 

Verify the acquisition cost is under the limit. 
 Complete Acquisition Cost Worksheet: 
http://www.mnhousing.gov/partners/lende
rs/programs/MHFA_001509.aspx 

Acquisition Cost limits may vary based on the 
county.  Check limits on Minnesota Housing 
website and use worksheet to calculate. 

Link to the house price limits: 
http://www.mnhousing.gov/partners/lenders/qua
lify/index.aspx  

Appraised Value  
Review appraisal and confirm appraised 
value is less than 125% of the maximum 
acquisition cost limit of the area. 

Link to the house price limits: 
http://www.mnhousing.gov/partners/lenders/qua
lify/index.aspx  

 
Business Use  

Confirm Borrower Intent. 

Verify fully executed Borrower Affidavit. 

Review appraisal. 

 

 

Minnesota Housing has a 15% business use 
restriction for all subject properties.  Daycare is 
allowable in the residence only if the borrower 
certifies that less than 15% of the total area of the 
residence will be used exclusively for business. 

No part of the residence may be specifically 
designed for commercial use. 

Personal 
Property 

Review purchase agreement and all 
addendums. If purchase agreement 
contains personal property: 
 Remove personal property with 

addendum 
 Verify signed Borrower and Property 

Seller Affidavits 

Personal property is not allowed in the Purchase 
Agreement and is anything which is not 
permanently installed or attached to the property 
(e.g., freestanding appliances, furniture, radio, boat).  
This policy applies to both existing homes and 
newly constructed homes. 
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Compliance 
Requirement 

Recommended documentation to 
fulfill the requirement 

Comments/Resources 

LOAN 

Eligible Loan 
Products 

 FHA- including Streamlined 203K 
 RD Guaranteed (GRH) 
 VA  
 Conventional – MCM or HP only 

Conventional loans follow My Community Mortgage 
(MCM) or Home Possible (HP) coverage requirement for 
Mortgage Insurance (MI). 

Insured Conventional loans must also meet MI 
underwriting guidelines.   

Loan 
Requirements 

 Fixed rate, fully amortized 
 Escrows required 
 Terms: 15 and 30 years 
 15 year term not allowed in 

combination with HAF loans 

Additional information in the Minnesota Housing 
Mortgage Loan Program, MBS Procedural Manual: 
-New construction -Ineligible loans 
-Subsidy Recapture -Settlement Costs 
-Junior Liens 

Replace 
Temporary 
Financing  

Review copy of the temporary initial 
financing to verify loan term of 24 months 
or less 

 

Minnesota Housing financing may replace 
temporary initial financing with an original loan term 
of 24 months or less such as:  
 Construction or interim loans  
 Contract for Deed 
 Bridge loans or gap loans 

Homeownership Assistance Fund (HAF) – Requirements apply only to borrowers receiving a HAF loan.  If the 
borrower is receiving MMP without HAF, the HAF requirements do not apply. 

HAF Credit Score 
Confirm eligible credit score 

 Review credit report and use the score 
used to underwrite the loan 

HAF borrower(s) must have a credit score greater 
than or equal to 620.   

If the HAF borrower has no credit score, the program 
allows alternative credit references as long as it is 
acceptable with the underlying mortgage guidelines 
(FHA, VA, RD, and Conventional). 

HAF Eligibility 

Verify HAF Eligibility. 

Link to Minnesota Housing income limits: 
http://www.mnhousing.gov/resources/reso
urces/limits/MHFA_004718.aspx 

Link to Minnesota Mortgage Program 
(MMP) Spotlight Areas: 
http://www.mnhousing.gov/resources/reso
urces/limits/MHFA_004719.aspx 

HAF eligibility applies as follows: 

MMP Program: 
 Borrowers purchasing in a Spotlight Area or 
 Borrower's earning less than 60% of median 

income, tiered by household size  

CASA  Program: 
 All CASA borrowers are eligible 

HAF Liquid Asset 
 
 

Verify liquid assets. 
Review recent statements from all asset 
accounts. 
Include joint accounts, business accounts, 
stocks and bonds and other liquid assets. 

HAF borrower's liquid asset reserves after closing are 
limited to the greater of 6 months PITI or $5,000. 

Liquid assets do not include retirement accounts 
(401K, 403B, IRA, etc.) or federally recognized 
Educational Savings Accounts. 

 
 
HAF Minimum 
Borrower 
Investment 
 
 

Verify minimum borrower investment. 
Calculate borrower investment by using 
recent bank statements, VOA, HUD 1, 1003. 

HAF borrowers must invest $1,000 of their own 
funds into the transaction.  The borrower investment 
must come from borrower assets and may not be a 
gift, grant, or loan.  In determining borrower 
investment, include POC items. 
 
Cash back at closing is allowed, if permitted by the 
underlying mortgage product.  Cash back should not 
lower borrower investment of $1,000. 
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Compliance 
Requirement 

Recommended documentation to 
fulfill the requirement 

Comments/Resources 

OTHER INFORMATION 

Minnesota 
Housing Specific 
Documents 

Documents are available through the 
Single Family HDS Web Application forms 
generator or on the website: 
http://www.mnhousing.gov/partners/lende
rs/programs/MHFA_001509.aspx 

Link to Forms Generator Guide: 
http://www.mnhousing.gov/idc/groups/ho
mes/documents/webcontent/mhfa_00843
3.pdf  

Review to ensure that documents are 
completed and correctly executed. 

All Loans require 
 Borrower Affidavit – notarized – original ink 
 Property Seller Affidavit- notarized – original ink 
 Subsidy Recapture Disclosure Statement 
 Mortgage Deed Amendment  –recorded 

If Applicable 

 Notice to Buyers (FHA/VA) 
 Endorsed HAF Note  
 Recorded and Assigned HAF Mortgage 
 FHA 203K Appliance Form 

Other 

The Minnesota Housing Mortgage Loan 
Program Manual contains additional 
information on these  topics: 

 Housing Choice Voucher Loans 
 Note endorsement 
 Hardship Policy 

 

 


