
LAWS OF MINNESOTA, FIRST SPECIAL SESSION, CHAPTER 3 
 

ARTICLE 1 
 

PROPERTY TAXES 
 
Sec. 14.  [273.128] [CERTIFICATION OF LOW-INCOME RENTAL  
PROPERTY.]  
  Subdivision 1.  [REQUIREMENT.] Low-income rental 
property  
classified as class 4d under section 273.13, 
subdivision 25, is  
entitled to valuation under this section if at least 75 
percent  
of the units in the rental housing property meet any of 
the  
following qualifications:  
  (1) the units are subject to a housing assistance 
payments  
contract under section 8 of the United States Housing 
Act of 1937, as amended;  
  (2) the units are rent-restricted and income-
restricted units of a qualified low-income housing 
project receiving tax  
credits under section 42(g) of the Internal Revenue 
Code of 1986, as amended;  
  (3) the units are financed by the Rural Housing 
Service of  
the United States Department of Agriculture and receive 
payments  
under the rental assistance program pursuant to section 
521(a)  
of the Housing Act of 1949, as amended; or  
(4) the units are subject to rent and income 
restrictions under the terms of financial assistance 
provided to the rental housing property by the federal 
government or the state of Minnesota as evidenced by a 
document recorded against the property.  
 The restrictions must require assisted units to be 
occupied by residents whose household income at the 
time of initial occupancy does not exceed 60 percent of 
the greater of area or state median income, adjusted 
for family size, as determined by the United States 
Department of Housing and Urban Development.  The 
restriction must also require the rents for assisted 
units to not exceed 30 percent of 60 percent of the 
greater of area or state median income, adjusted for 
family size, as determined by the United States 
Department of Housing and Urban Development.  



 Subd. 2.  [APPLICATION.] (a) Application for 
certification under this section must be filed by March 
31 of the levy year, or at a later date if the Housing 
Finance Agency deems practicable.  The application must 
be filed with the Housing Finance Agency, on a form 
prescribed by the agency, and must contain the 
information required by the Housing Finance Agency.  
 (b) Each application must include:  
 (1) the property tax identification number; and  
  (2) evidence that the property meets the 
requirements of subdivision 1.  
 (c) The Housing Finance Agency may charge an 
application  
fee approximately equal to the costs of processing and 
reviewing the applications but not to exceed $10 per 
unit.  If imposed, the applicant must pay the 
application fee to the Housing Finance Agency.  The fee 
must be deposited in the housing development fund.  
 Subd. 3.  [CERTIFICATION.] By June 1 of each levy 
year, the Housing Finance Agency must certify to the 
appropriate county or  
city assessors, the specific properties that are 
qualified under this section and the number of units in 
the building that qualify.  In making the 
certification, the Housing Finance Agency may rely on 
the application and any other supporting information 
that the agency deems necessary from the property 
owner.  
  [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective for 
taxes payable in 2006 and subsequent years, except that 
the application date in subdivision 2 is extended to 
August 31, 2005, and the certification date in 
subdivision 3 is extended to September 30, 2005. 
 
 
 Sec. 16.  Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 273.13, 
subdivision 25, as amended by Laws 2005, chapter 151, 
article 3, section 12, is amended to read:  
 Subd. 25.  [CLASS 4.] (a) Class 4a is residential 
real estate containing four or more units and used or 
held for use by the owner or by the tenants or lessees 
of the owner as a residence for rental periods of 30 
days or more, excluding property qualifying for class 
4d.  Class 4a also includes hospitals licensed under 
sections 144.50 to 144.56, other than hospitals exempt 
under section 272.02, and contiguous property used for 
hospital purposes, without regard to whether the 
property has been platted or subdivided.  The market 
value of class 4a property has a class rate of 1.25 



percent.  
 (b) Class 4b includes:  
 (1) residential real estate containing less than 
four units that does not qualify as class 4bb, other 
than seasonal residential recreational property;  
 (2) manufactured homes not classified under any 
other provision;  
 (3) a dwelling, garage, and surrounding one acre of 
property on a nonhomestead farm classified under 
subdivision 23, paragraph (b) containing two or three 
units; and  
 (4) unimproved property that is classified 
residential as determined under subdivision 33.  The 
market value of class 4b property has a class rate of  
1.25 percent.  
 (c) Class 4bb includes:  
 (1) nonhomestead residential real estate containing 
one unit, other than seasonal residential recreational 
property; and  
 (2) a single family dwelling, garage, and 
surrounding one acre of property on a nonhomestead farm 
classified under subdivision 23, paragraph (b). Class 
4bb property has the same class rates as class 1a 
property under subdivision 22.  
 Property that has been classified as seasonal 
residential recreational property at any time during 
which it has been owned by the current owner or spouse 
of the current owner does not qualify for class 4bb.  
 (d) Class 4c property includes:  
 (1) except as provided in subdivision 22, paragraph 
(c), real property devoted to temporary and seasonal 
residential occupancy for recreation purposes, 
including real property devoted to temporary and 
seasonal residential occupancy for recreation purposes 
and not devoted to commercial purposes for more than 
250 days in the year preceding the year of assessment.  
For purposes of this clause, property is devoted to  
a commercial purpose on a specific day if any portion 
of the property is used for residential occupancy, and 
a fee is charged for residential occupancy.  In order 
for a property to be classified as class 4c, seasonal 
residential recreational for commercial purposes, at 
least 40 percent of the annual gross lodging receipts 
related to the property must be from business conducted 
during 90 consecutive days and either (i) at least 60 
percent of all paid bookings by lodging guests during 
the year must be for periods of at least two 
consecutive nights; or (ii) at least 20 percent of the 
annual gross receipts must be from charges for rental 



of fish houses, boats and motors, snowmobiles, downhill 
or cross-country ski equipment, or charges for marina 
services, launch services, and guide services, or the 
sale of bait and fishing tackle.  For purposes of this 
determination, a paid booking of five or more nights 
shall be counted as two bookings.  Class 4c also 
includes commercial use real property used exclusively 
for recreational purposes in conjunction with class 4c 
property devoted to temporary and seasonal residential 
occupancy for recreational purposes, up to a total of 
two acres, provided the property is not devoted to 
commercial recreational use for more than 250 days in 
the year preceding the year of assessment and is 
located within two miles of the class 4c property with 
which it is used.  Class 4c property classified in this 
clause also includes the remainder of class 1c resorts 
provided that the entire property including that 
portion of the property classified as class 1c also 
meets the requirements for class 4c under this clause; 
otherwise the entire property is classified as class 3.  
Owners of real property devoted to temporary and 
seasonal residential occupancy for recreation purposes 
and all or a portion of which was devoted to commercial 
purposes for not more than 250 days in the year 
preceding the year of assessment desiring 
classification as class 1c or 4c, must submit a 
declaration to the assessor designating the cabins or 
units occupied for 250 days or less in the year 
preceding the year of assessment by January 15 of the 
assessment year.  Those cabins or units and a 
proportionate share of the land on which they are 
located will be designated class 1c or 4c as otherwise 
provided.  The remainder of the cabins or units and a 
proportionate share of the land on which they are 
located will be designated as class 3a.  The owner of 
property desiring designation as class 1c or 4c 
property must provide guest registers or other records 
demonstrating that the units for which class 1c or 4c 
designation is sought were not occupied for more than 
250 days in the year preceding the assessment if so 
requested.  The portion of a property operated as a (1) 
restaurant, (2) bar, (3) gift shop, and (4) other 
nonresidential facility operated on a commercial basis 
not directly related to temporary and seasonal 
residential occupancy for recreation purposes shall not 
qualify for class 1c or 4c;  
  (2) qualified property used as a golf course if:  
  (i) it is open to the public on a daily fee 
basis.  It may charge membership fees or dues, but a 



membership fee may not be required in order to use the 
property for golfing, and its green fees for golfing 
must be comparable to green fees typically charged by 
municipal courses; and  
  (ii) it meets the requirements of section 
273.112, subdivision 3, paragraph (d).  
 A structure used as a clubhouse, restaurant, or 
place of refreshment in conjunction with the golf 
course is classified as class 3a property;  
   (3) real property up to a maximum of one acre of 
land owned by a nonprofit community service oriented 
organization; provided  
that the property is not used for a revenue-producing 
activity for more than six days in the calendar year 
preceding the year  
of assessment and the property is not used for 
residential purposes on either a temporary or permanent 
basis.  For purposes of this clause, a "nonprofit 
community service oriented organization" means any 
corporation, society, association, foundation, or 
institution organized and operated exclusively for 
charitable, religious, fraternal, civic, or educational 
purposes, and which is exempt from federal income 
taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3), (10), or (19) 
of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended 
through December 31, 1990.  For purposes of this 
clause, "revenue-producing activities" shall include 
but not be limited to property or that portion of the 
property that is used as an on-sale intoxicating liquor 
or 3.2 percent malt liquor establishment licensed under 
chapter 340A, a restaurant open to the public, bowling 
alley, a retail store, gambling conducted by 
organizations licensed under chapter 349, an insurance 
business, or office or other space leased or rented to 
a lessee who conducts a for-profit enterprise on the 
premises.  Any portion of the property which is used 
for revenue-producing activities for more than six days 
in the calendar year preceding the year of assessment 
shall be assessed as class 3a.  The use of the property 
for social events open exclusively to members and their 
guests for periods of less than 24 hours, when an 
admission is not charged nor any revenues are received 
by the organization shall not be considered a revenue-
producing activity;  
   (4) postsecondary student housing of not more 
than one acre of land that is owned by a nonprofit 
corporation organized under chapter 317A and is used 
exclusively by a student cooperative, sorority, or 
fraternity for on-campus housing or housing located 



within two miles of the border of a college campus;  
   (5) manufactured home parks as defined in 
section 327.14, subdivision 3;  
   (6) real property that is actively and 
exclusively devoted indoor fitness, health, social, 
recreational, and related uses, is owned and operated 
by a not-for-profit corporation, and is located within 
the metropolitan area as defined in section 473.121, 
subdivision 2;  
   (7) a leased or privately owned noncommercial 
aircraft storage hangar not exempt under section 
272.01, subdivision 2,  
and the land on which it is located, provided that:  
  (i) the land is on an airport owned or operated 
by a city, town, county, Metropolitan Airports 
Commission, or group thereof; and  
  (ii) the land lease, or any ordinance or signed 
agreement restricting the use of the leased premise, 
prohibits commercial activity performed at the hangar. 
If a hangar classified under this clause is sold after 
June 30, 2000, a bill of sale must be filed by the new 
owner with the assessor of the county where the 
property is located within 60 days of the sale;  
  (8) a privately owned noncommercial aircraft 
storage hangar not exempt under section 272.01, 
subdivision 2, and the land on which it is located, 
provided that:  
   (i) the land abuts a public airport; and  
  (ii) the owner of the aircraft storage hangar 
provides the assessor with a signed agreement 
restricting the use of the premises, prohibiting 
commercial use or activity performed at the hangar; and 
     (9) residential real estate, a portion of which 
is used by the owner for homestead purposes, and that 
is also a place of lodging, if all of the following 
criteria are met:  
  (i) rooms are provided for rent to transient 
guests that generally stay for periods of 14 or fewer 
days;  
  (ii) meals are provided to persons who rent 
rooms, the cost of which is incorporated in the basic 
room rate;  
  (iii) meals are not provided to the general 
public except for special events on fewer than seven 
days in the calendar year preceding the year of the 
assessment; and  
  (iv) the owner is the operator of the property.  
 The market value subject to the 4c classification 
under this clause is limited to five rental units.  Any 



rental units on the property in excess of five, must be 
valued and assessed as class 3a.  The portion of the 
property used for purposes of a homestead by the owner 
must be classified as class 1a property under 
subdivision 22.  
 Class 4c property has a class rate of 1.5 percent 
of market value, except that (i) each parcel of 
seasonal residential recreational property not used for 
commercial purposes has the same class rates as class 
4bb property, (ii) manufactured home parks assessed 
under clause (5) have the same class rate as class 4b 
property, (iii) commercial-use seasonal residential 
recreational property has a class rate of one percent 
for the first $500,000 of market value, which includes 
any market value receiving the one percent rate under 
subdivision 22, and 1.25 percent for the remaining 
market value, (iv) the market value of property 
described in clause (4) has a class rate of one 
percent, (v) the market value of property described in 
clauses (2) and (6) has a class rate of 1.25 percent, 
and (vi) that portion of the market value of property 
in clause (8) (9) qualifying for class 4c property has 
a class rate of 1.25 percent.   
  (e) Class 4d property is qualifying low-income 
rental housing certified to the assessor by the Housing 
Finance Agency under section 273.128, subdivision 3.  
If only a portion of the units in the building qualify 
as low-income rental housing units as certified under 
section 273.128, subdivision 3, only the proportion of 
qualifying units to the total number of units in the 
building qualify for class 4d.  The remaining portion 
of the building shall be classified by the assessor 
based upon its use.  Class 4d also includes the same 
proportion of land as the qualifying low-income rental 
housing units are to the total units in the building.  
For all properties qualifying as class 4d, the market 
value determined by the assessor must be based on the 
normal approach to value using normal unrestricted 
rents.  
 Class 4d property has a class rate of 0.75 percent.  
 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective for 
taxes payable in 2006 and subsequent years. 


