Quick Start Disaster Recovery Program

Minnesota Housing Quick Start Program now available with up to $20,000 in assistance

The Quick Start Disaster Recovery Program provides assistance as a last resort when private insurance and federal assistance are not adequate to return a damaged home to its pre-disaster condition.
The program provides a no-interest loan of up to $20,000 for home repair, which is forgiven if the owner remains in the home for 10 years. Funding for repairs to rental housing properties is also available under similar terms and conditions.


Residents affected by flooding in the following counties may be eligible for Quick Start: Blue Earth, Freeborn, Hennepin, Le Sueur, Rice, Steele and Waseca.

Residents must first apply to FEMA for a physical disaster loan by contacting FEMA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center at 800.621.3362, or apply online at https://disasterassistance.gov.
FEMA may in certain situations refer victims to SBA for further disaster loan assistance. Because federal resources must first be exhausted, borrowers must accept the maximum SBA loan offered to them before Quick Start can be utilized. The FEMA/SBA application deadline is January 28, 2017.
If FEMA and/or SBA assistance is insufficient or unavailable, homeowners can then apply for a Quick Start loan.

How to Apply

Minnesota Housing has contracted with three local administrators to deliver the program and work with residents to complete Quick Start applications. The application deadline for Quick Start is March 30, 2017. Contact the administrator for your county directly to get started:
Counties served:  Blue Earth, Le Sueur and Waseca
706 North Victory Drive
Mankato, MN 56001
Call 800.767.7139 or 507.345.6822
Counties served:  Freeborn, Rice and Steele
204 South Elm Street, PO Box 549
Rushford, MN 55971
Call Cindy at 507.864.8207 or Vonda at 507.864.8241
County served: Hennepin
212 3rd Ave N, Suite 560
Minneapolis, MN 55401
Call Stephen Hines at 612.335.5851 or Brenda Yaritz at 612.335.5891