Mortgage rates starting at:

View all interest rates

Housing Tax Credits

The Low-Income Housing Tax Credit (HTC) Program is a financing program for qualified residential rental properties. The HTC program offers investors a 10-year reduction in tax liability in exchange for capital to build eligible affordable rental housing units in new construction, rehabilitation, or acquisition with rehabilitation.

2015 Round 1 HTC Applicants

Housing Tax Credit 2015 Round 2

Minnesota Housing is now accepting applications for Round 2 of the 2015 Housing Tax Credit Program. There is approximately $190,000 in tax credits available for Round 2. An additional $185,000 in returned credits may also become available this round. Applications are due January 27, 2015 by 5:00 p.m.

Subject to approval, projects that meet both of the following qualifications will have priority in Round 2:

  • Previously received tax credits.

  • Have an annual tax credit shortfall of at least 5 percent but not more than 33.33 percent of the total qualified annual tax credit amount.

See application and reference materials below.

Contact Tamara Wilson at tamara.wilson@state.mn.us or 651.296.4451 with questions.  

2016 QAP Planning Materials
Application Materials
HTC Application Reference Materials
Procedures for 2014 Carryover of Housing Tax Credits
Procedure for Final Housing Tax Credit Allocation Certification - IRS Form 8609 and Section 1602 Form 8609


Previous Years Manuals, Qualified Allocation Plans, Declarations, Scoresheets, Design Standards and Important Dates
2008 through 2014-2015 Procedural Manuals and Documents

Compliance Monitoring
Housing Tax Credit Compliance - Overview, Dates, Manual, Owner and Tenant Certification Forms

Changes in Ownership or Proposed Development
Minnesota Housing strongly discourages the transfer of ownership or any material project or building design changes for developments that have been awarded tax credits. Any unapproved transfers or changes could be penalized by the complete or partial loss of tax credits as well as the assessment of penalty points. If an owner wishes to change or transfer ownership, the following forms must be submitted to Minnesota Housing for approval along with a transfer fee and the other documentation described in the Procedural Manual, Chapter 3.
Properties For Sale